Skip to content

back to school with a bang!

September 2, 2011

Going back to school means back to blogging  and I couldn’t be more excited! The best part is that I have exciting news to share with all of you to start the year off right. Yesterday, I found out that I was accepted to Teen Vogue’s Fashion University this fall.  I will be attending three days of conferences with a variety of people in the fashion industry including Proenza Shouler, Amy Astley, and Michael Kors, and taking pictures the entire weekend to share with all of you!

I thought I would upload a few pieces of my application in case anyone is looking to apply for next year. Here is my essay on how I would define my personal style.

If I were to represent my style in a want add it would read, “19 year-old romantic seeking 80 year-old boyfriend to steal clothes from.”  Although I’m not actually seeking a boyfriend with a senior citizen discount, my closet would argue otherwise. I can’t seem to have enough thick wool men’s sweaters, army boots or fedoras. I’m sure this is partly from being from Minnesota where those who don’t dress for survival succumb to natural selection and freeze to death. However weather aside, my personal style recipe requires equal parts men’s apparel and girly romantic separates.

On any given day you could see me wearing my grandpa’s XXL off white wool sweater over a light pink leotard tucked into black tapered cigarette jeans. As for accessories, I love to wear jewelry that reminds me of people I love, like the rusted brown and gold watch that my Dad received when he got his first promotion, or the clutch my grandma brought on her honeymoon.

I may only be 19, but my closet argues I’m 91. At least I can feel comfortable that the day my Oxfords turn into Orthopedics, I’ll already have the wool sweaters to match.

October 21st could not come soon enough!

A la Teen Vogue, a la New York,  a la HOLY CRAP I’M SO EXCITED, and always…

A la mode,

Sheri

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jess permalink
    September 8, 2011 12:13 am

    I wish i had facebook to communicate more with you but I AM BEAMING I AM SO UNBELIEVABLY PROUD OF YOU RIGHT NOW!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

