Skip to content

holy mint moly

May 10, 2011

My world has officially been rocked. After years of being a self-proclaimed chocolate chip cookie hater, it looks as though my taste buds have changed. I just made what can only be described as the best take on chocolate cookies EVER! Thanks to Stumpleupon, I found the worlds best recipe for mint chocolate chip cookies.

1 pouch (1 lb 1.5 oz) Betty Crocker® sugar cookie mix
1/2 cup butter or margarine, softened
1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon mint extract
6 to 8 drops green food color
1 egg
1 cup creme de menthe baking chips
1 cup semisweet chocolate chunks

After deciding to bake them, I realized my lacking of a few ingredients was going to force me to tweak the recipe, and boy am I glad I did. Instead of using mint extract, I used peppermint extract. This made the mint much more noticeable and gave the cookies a cold mint after taste, yum. I was also missing creme de menthe chips, so I substituted them by chopping up a cup of Andes mints. I preferred this to chips because I could chop the chunks larger so that they were more predominant in the actual cookies. The last change I made to the recipe was to only add 3/4 a cup of chocolate chips to prevent them from overpowering the mint flavor.

Eight minutes and 350 degrees later, my taste-buds were in heaven! And, because I have absolutely no control over my diet, I chased two cookies with a giant bowl of chocolate ice cream covered with cookie crumbles…Holy mint moly.

Aside from the muffin top that follows said cookie binges, I am so happy I decided to make this recipe. How perfect would these be for St. Patricks Day?  If you’re looking for an easy baking project that will wow your friends and family, this recipe is it!

Muffin tops and mint cookies for all!

A la mint, a la cookies, a la I am soooooo full, and of course…

A la mode,

-Sheri

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jess permalink
    May 11, 2011 12:50 am

    i stumbled upon this too and bookmarked it! make them for me!!!

Leave a Reply

