Skip to content

battle of the oldies

January 23, 2011

I often fall victim to downloading the top singles of the week on Itunes, but thanks to my History of Rock class, I have realized that older music is much more my style. See you later repetitive pops songs, i’m turning back the clock to understand where it all started, and boy was it better at the beginning.

Thanks to my sister, I have been listening to a wide variety of Beatles songs for the past year. On top of that, Rock and Roll class has further opened my eyes, and exposed me to even more Beatle blessings (Youtube has odd embedded link regulations, so if you can’t directly play the video, you can find it on Youtube.)

#1. Please Please Me

#2. Norweigan Wood, the song that introduced the satar to America.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lY5i4-rWh44

I have also developed a new love for The Kinks. I feel their the perfect modern day blend of The Kooks and Mumford and Sons, two of my favorites.

#3. Waterloo Sunset

#5. Top of the Pops

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DaVxOGk6H48

Then there is The Who. They really now how to bring it home with a mind blowing guitar solo, and Pinball Wizard is no exception. A shout out to my Dad, who although I fought him originally, introduced me to this rocking classic.

#6. Pinball Wizard

Saving the best for last, readers meet Sam Cooke. Whenever i’m feeling down, playing (What A) Wonderful World always cheers me up and gives me hope for tomorrow. My favorite part of the song is the simplicity of the lyrics. There’s no deep hidden meaning, no underlying plot line, just love. If you love me and I love you, the world will be a better place. Right on Sam.

Don't know much about history
Don't know much biology
Don't know much about a science book
Don't know much about the french I took

But I do know that I love you
And I know that if you love me too
What a wonderful world this would be
#7. (What A) Wonderful World 

#8. Sugar Dumpling


So when walking to class tomorrow, consider not playing another rap songs about getting drunk and meeting girls,
but opening your ears to some of rock gods that started it all. 
A la Beatles, a la Kinks, a la Sam Cooke, sixties rock is always...
A la mode,
-Sheri
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

