Skip to content

No Place Like Home for the Holidays

December 25, 2010

Merry Christmas and Feliz Navidad mis amigos! I hope everyone is having a wonderful snowy Christmas day filled with food, family, and love. This Christmas I plan to relax with the family in my pajamas and eat until my buttons burst. Having been busy with Christmas parties recently, it will be nice to lounge around in my new reindeer flannel pajama set, thanks grandma.  They will look great with last years battery powered, light up Christmas sweater.

However, we all know the holidays call for much more than pajamas. This season my favorite holiday get ups involve neutrals, tights and boots with socks, lace, coral lipstick and voluminous sleeves.

At my friend Nina’s annual “Home for the Holidays Party,” I noticed all of my trendy pals were loving neutrals this winter, and I couldn’t agree more. As our tans fade, neutrals are a great way to make our skin appear darker than it really is. Don’t be afraid to layer multiple shades of neutrals, and accessorize to your hearts content.

I also just purchased the new Korres lipstick shade #45, and as you can see from my friends wearing it, we all adore the coral shade. It looks great on everyone, and gives you a nice pop of color to save you from dull winter skin.

Tights and boots are a must this winter. They easily help you transition summer clothes to winter, and be honest, provide a nice barrier for hairy winter legs. Thanks to Santa, I have been loving a new sequin jacket from Urban outfitters which adds a nice sparkle to any outfit. I would highly suggest a statement piece like this for new years.

As for Christmas Eve, my sisters and I walked downstairs to find we all wore variations of the same outfits. We love black and white ensembles with tights for the holidays. I paired a lace H&M dress with a cropped tuxedo jacket, and topped it off with my favorite pair of magenta high heeled booties (picture below).

So blast some Josh Groban, have awkward conversation with extended family, and remember what Christmas is all about, love.

A la love, a la family, a la Navidad, y tambien….

A la Mode,

-Sheri

No comments yet

Leave a comment